Update (11:23 PM): Zetterberg admits the application of the rule was correct. Meanwhile, the Blue Jackets, refreshingly, don’t go ballistic over it. – Matt
Ugly collision with the boards, but not malicious intent on Z’s part. Still, probably a deserved punishment. He didn’t help Nikitin out at all putting that pressure on his lower back.
As George points out at the link, the League will look at it. But given his history (Wyshynski notes this was his first-ever major and ejection), any further discipline should be unlikely.